So we have this man that drives around the neighborhood selling produce from the back of his bongo truck. That wouldn’t be so bad, except he has a recording that announces over and over what it is he sells. Think the ice cream truck, only instead of awesomely creepy music, you hear the Islamic call to prayer. And he drives around from dawn until sunset. Well, today I was coming home from the post office and I bought a few apples from the man. Supposedly, he sells awesome watermelons in the summertime. I will let you know how the apples are after I try them. They were a little pricey. I think it was because of the language barrier, though. Starting next month, twice a week I will be going to Korean Language classes offered through the military. Then I can negotiate with the produce man for nicely priced fruit and potatoes!

I forgot to mention. Last week, I went out with a few of the ladies from around here. We were originally going to shopping, but we ended up going to the Da Vinci exhibit at the War Museum in Seoul. There were no originals, of course, but it was pretty cool to see a lot of the replicas they made. For this exhibit, they actually built a lot of Da Vinci’s inventions, and they completely broke down the Mona Lisa. It was very neat and an awesome learning experience.

Oh, and for the record. I eat like a four year old when P isn’t home:

 

And here are a few random pictures of our street. At the end of the street there is a Buddhist cemetery, and the lower on the hill you were buried the less important you were. I feel kind of bad, because literally a whole neighborhood has enveloped this one chuck of the cemetery. You can see at the top of the hill more cemeteries, but no one lives up there either. There are hiking trails up to the area, so I will have to take pictures when we make that trek. There are tons of statues up in those areas.

Our street

The cemetery

Post Gate

 

You can probably tell it’s extremely hazy here. There is a ton of pollution, so it isn’t often that you have a clear bright blue day (we actually had two this weekend, and guess which silly girl forgot to bring her camera out). I had a teacher at Troy who once asked her Korean students why their families settled in Alabama (there is a huge Korean population in Southeast Alabama). They told her it was because of the song “The Stars Fell on Alabama.” It was sang by many artists over the years, and the phrase even resides on the state license plate. It is amazing to me that P and I get to witness the complete lack of stars here (on occasion there is a clear night, but it seems pretty rare). I know that there are many places in the US where you don’t see the stars either, but it’s still pretty cool to me that I can understand first hand why they chose Alabama as their new home.

Anyways, it is time for me to study. Toodle-loo!

