First, let me just say, “I CANNOT BELIEVE WE’VE BEEN HERE FOR OVER TWO-HUNDRED DAYS ALREADY!”

Okay, now that that is out of my system, this post is going to be short and sweet. There’s only one event I want to cover, and since it happened about six weeks ago, you’ll be getting mostly pictures and very little play-by-play action. Sorry, y’all!

Last month, a few of the ladies had a fabulous idea to do a spouses outing. One company’s FRG organized for any of the spouses who were interested to take a Korean cooking class. We had a choice between learning how to cook bulgolgi (a childhood favorite of mine) or jeyuk-bokkum (spicy pork, one of my favorite dishes since coming to Korea). Fun, right? I immediately RSVPed, and picked my dish: jeyuk-bokkum. Not only was this an opportunity to learn something new and cool, but it was also an opportunity to hang out with some pretty awesome people (even Mrs. R came!). The boys took care of baby R, and Mrs. R and I took off in search of the Food & Culture Korea Co. It ended up being near Gyeongbokgung Palace (read more about that here — please ignore my brutal and constant misspelling of Gyeongbukgung). However, while the company made it seem like the sixth story office/classroom/kitchen would be blatantly obvious, it definitely wasn’t. Luckily, we all made it safe and sound, and only had to stand on about eight street corners scratching our heads.

It seemed that everyone really enjoyed making their meals, and we had an even greater time eating them!

If anyone would like a copy of the recipes, just leave a comment and I’ll get them to you! These truly are delicious dishes (try saying that one five times fast).

And on the next episode of JDL, we’ll be recapping P’s fabulous birthday trip to the DMZ (please read that in your best primetime TV voice)… Okay, time for me to hit the books again! As always, thanks for reading!

Quick edit: Almost forgot! We also got these crazy nice certificates with velvet-y folders. I didn’t post pictures of everyone receiving theirs, though, since it would’ve taken days to edit out the names. Overall, it was a really cool experience, and I really want to go back and learn how to make other dishes!

