Tags

, , , , ,

This morning I walked into the kitchen to find P had left out some beef (boneless short ribs specifically) for dinner. Last week, we had the same cut of meat that I marinated in equal parts balsamic vinegar and gluten-free soy sauce with a spoonful of Korean red pepper flakes and some minced garlic. The meat was yummy, the sauce was yummier. It was so yummy we used it about four times last week. Needless to say, I wanted something different tonight, but I had no idea what to make.

After a long and glorious nap with my little dude, I awoke with a fierce craving for galbi (a type of Korean BBQ beef). It was already 4:30PM. Hubby would be home any time now. A quick text confirmed that I had a little bit of extra time to get things done (for once these annoying career course projects work in my favor!). And what would I make to go with it?! Eep! So many decisions!!

Now, as you know, I don’t typically (ok, ever, this is a first) post recipes on my cute little blog. There are multiple reasons for this, the biggest being that I tend to cook by sight and taste, which I find difficult to translate into a coherent recipe. The least of which is that I’m too impatient to take a pretty picture before I dig in.

But seriously friends. Tonight I surprised myself. This was easily the very best meal I’ve ever made. In my entire life. AND I’M ACTUALLY A GOOD COOK!! (Yes, I just tooted my own horn.) P-diddles even threw in a “new fave” as I cleaned up tonight.

A quick google search did not yield a specific galbi recipe that really excited me, but it did send me in the right direction that I was able to combine with some of the tricks I learned in the couple of Korean cooking classes I took. I also found an insanely simple and awesome potato dish to make as a side —> http://weekofmenus.blogspot.com/2009/10/korean-style-roasted-potatoes.html?m=1 <— yum, with a cute story!

Anyways, so here's my kick-butt galbi recipe (mostly, I just don't want to forget it, so I can make it again!!):

Galbi: serves 4

1-2 lbs boneless beef short ribs, cut into 1-2 inch pieces
2 tb rice wine vinegar
3 green onions, chopped
3 cloves (or more) garlic, sliced (minced or crushed would be fine also, but I associated garlic slices with Korean food. It’s a part of the experience for me)

Combine in a dish.

Marinade:

1/2C gluten-free soy sauce (next time, I plan to use the low sodium version. I thought it came out a touch too salty)
1/2C coconut palm sugar (some recipes called for brown sugar, others plain white. I think both would be fine)
1/4C water
1.5 tb sesame oil
1 ts Korean red pepper (more if you want it to actually be spicy)

Mix well.
Pour over meat, onions, and garlic.
Refrigerate for a couple hours or overnight (all the recipes online suggested overnight, but I didn’t have that kind of time. Two hours was good enough, though).

Now, galbi is intended to be grilled on a Korean grill, which is something like a cast iron hot plate. Sometimes it’s over coals or some other similar set up, but it’s not quite the grill we think of on our back porch. You could grill this, of course, but you’d need bigger chunks of meat. I think a cast iron grill pan would be perfect. Too bad I don’t own one of those. SO. That said.

Heat your pan (or grill. Or oven even) to medium to high heat.

Cook a few minutes until your meat reaches your desired doneness. I cooked ours maybe five minutes per side… Not 100% sure. It was still a little pink on the inside.

Now clear all the meat out of your frying pan, and dump the rest of your marinade in there.
Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat, let simmer for 10-15 minutes (or longer, depending on your sauce thickness preferences).

And now you have a kick-butt sauce to go with your kick-butt galbi and sticky rice!!

Seriously, make the rice. It’s a major life regret of mine right now that I didn’t have any rice for my sauce.

Optional for garnish (and total yumminess):

3 more green onions, chopped
sesame seeds
shredded seaweed

Oh, and next time, I’ll probably add sliced yellow or vidalia onion to the marinade. Mostly because I’m addicted to cooked sweet onion.

Here’s an icky iPhone picture taken in the 22 seconds dinner sat on the table before we dug in:

20130701-232706.jpg

We also had green beans to make it healthy (and give baby pants something to eat) 😉

